Six Nations: here are the formations of France-England


Six Nations: here are the formations of France-England
Six Nations: here are the formations of France-England

France and England the most anticipated match of the Six Nations 2022, which will be played on Saturday 19 March 2022 at the Stade de France in Paris. France who will play with the same or almost the same formations, while England changes some players compared to the latest releases, tar technical choices and injuries.

France entrusts the team with only two novelties: Damian Penaud and the return of Romain Taofifenua. For England, Northampton's extreme George Furbank will play surprisingly. FRANCE: 15 Melvyn Jaminet; 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Gael Fickou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Gabin Villiere; 10 Romain Ntamack, 9 Antoine Dupont (Cap.), 8 Gregory Alldritt, 7 Anthony Jelonch, 6 Francois Cros; 5 Paul Willemse, 4 Cameron Woki; 3 Uini Atonio, 2 Julien Marchand, 1 Cyril Baille.

ENGLAND: 15 George Furbank; 14 Freddie Steward, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Henry Slade, 11 Jack Nowell; 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Ben Youngs; 8 Sam Simmonds, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Courtney Lawes; 5 Nick Isiekwe, 4 Maro Itoje; 3 Will Stuart, 2 Jamie George, 1 Ellis Genge.

Six Nations: an incredible story

Born as the Home Championship in 1883, at the time played between the four Nationals of the British Isles (Wales, England, Ireland and Scotland), it was renamed in two distinct moments in its Five Nations history (between 1910 and 1931 and between 1947 and 1999) in conjunction with the presence of France in the tournament.

The current name is from 2000, the year in which Italy was also admitted to the tournament. It was sponsored from 1997 to 2002 by Lloyds TSB, from 2003 to 2017 by the Royal Bank of Scotland (as RBS Six Nations) and in 2018 by its subsidiary National Westminster Bank (as NatWest Six Nations).

In December 2018 Guinness signed an agreement to sponsor the tournament, from 2019 to 2024, which therefore takes the name of Guinness Six Nations. By 2021, the most victorious team in the tournament is Wales, which have won forty editions of the competition, including single and shared victories.

Among the least successful teams are Italy, which since its admission to the tournament has never won it, and Scotland, the only one among the winners of the competition to have not yet won a title after the expansion of the tournament to six teams, having clinched their last win in 1999.