Six Nations: Scotland beats England, Ireland beats Wales!


Six Nations: Scotland beats England, Ireland beats Wales!
Six Nations: Scotland beats England, Ireland beats Wales!

On the first day of the Six Nations, Scotland beat England 20-17 at Murrayfield in the European classic in its 151st edition. The Calcutta Cup is therefore still in the hands of Scotland, after the resounding victory at Twickenham last year.

England penalized by the ingenuity of Cowan-Dickie who decides the match in favor of the hosts and allows Scotland to keep the Calcutta Cup. Too much disparity between Wales and Ireland, the latter among the favorites for the final victory of the tournament.

Wales remain defenseless, the Irish win 29-7. The protagonist and best player in the field was Connacht's Australian rookie Mack Hansen, on his debut and called to replace James Lowe. France beats Italy at the Stade de France for 37-10.

France, among the favorites for the final victory of the tournament. The French also keep the Garibaldi Trophy in Paris and take the lead at the end of the first day. Five to one goals for the hosts, with the great protagonist Villiere Man of the match.

Six Nations: an incredible story

Born as the Home Championship in 1883, at the time played between the four Nationals of the British Isles (Wales, England, Ireland and Scotland), it was renamed in two distinct moments in its Five Nations history (between 1910 and 1931 and between 1947 and 1999) in conjunction with the presence of France in the tournament.

The current name is from 2000, the year in which Italy was also admitted to the tournament. It was sponsored from 1997 to 2002 by Lloyds TSB, from 2003 to 2017 by the Royal Bank of Scotland (as RBS Six Nations) and in 2018 by its subsidiary National Westminster Bank (as NatWest Six Nations).

In December 2018 Guinness signed an agreement to sponsor the tournament, from 2019 to 2024, which therefore takes the name of Guinness Six Nations. By 2021, the most victorious team in the tournament is Wales, which have won forty editions of the competition, including single and shared victories.

Among the least successful teams are Italy, which since its admission to the tournament has never won it, and Scotland, the only one among the winners of the competition to have not yet won a title after the expansion of the tournament to six teams, having clinched their last win in 1999.

France Italy

• Fierce criticism from France on Ridley Scott's Napoleon: It is an anti-French film
• France Issues Arrest Warrant for Syrian President Bashar al-Assad
• France's Macron Demands Ceasefire in Gaza
• Major Operation: 16 Notorious Gambino Family Members Arrested in the USA and Italy
• Anti-Semitism Exploded: In France, 486 People Were Arrested For Anti-Semitism
• Storm Ciaran devastated France: The UK is also in trouble!