ATP Finals Draw: Djokovic with Medvedev and Tsitsipas! Nadal with Ruud!

by   |  VIEW 292

ATP Finals Draw: Djokovic with Medvedev and Tsitsipas! Nadal with Ruud!

In Turin, for the ATP Finals 2022, the best eight tennis players in the world will compete to decide who will be the winner of the Tournament of Masters, the last tournament of the ATP tour season. The event, however, must do without the world number one: Carlos Alcaraz has declared forfeit due to an abdominal problem he had during the match in Paris-Bercy against Holger Rune.

As a result, Rafael Nadal became the first seed of the tournament, while Taylor Fritz became the eighth qualifier of the Finals. With a Race defined after the Masters 1000 in Paris-Bercy, the draw were defined: Nadal and Tsitsipas in the first; followed by Ruud and Medvedev; the third is by Auger-Aliassime and Rublev; Djokovic and Fritz close.

The draw, without an Italian present at the starting line, will be staged on Sunday 13th for the first matches of the two groups; the final will be Sunday 21 November.

ATP Finals Draw: Djokovic with Medvedev and Tsitsipas!

Nadal with Ruud!

Rafael Nadal commands the green group, looking for the first Atp Finals title of his career. With the Spaniard, there will be Casper Ruud, two-time finalist of two Grand Slam tournaments (Roland Garros and Us Open) and the two rookies of this edition of the tournament of masters, namely Felix Auger-Aliassime and Taylor Fritz.

The red group, on the other hand, sees the other two Grand Slam champions. Lead the finalist of Roland Garros, Stefanos Tsitsipas, second seed of this tournament. With the Greek, Daniil Medvedev and Novak Djokovic present: the Russian must avenge the final lost last year against Alexander Zverev; the Serbian tries to match Roger Federer's record, with six Finals trophies on the showcase.

The other Russian of the tournament closes the group, Andrey, already present here last year. Therefore, the iron group was avoided: the three Slam champions, namely Nadal, Djokovic and Medvedev, could have been present in the same group.

Instead, only two Grand Slam champions will face each other in the same group, with a new clash between the Serbian and the Russian after the great match in Kazakhstan. Below the groups: