ATP Awards 2022: here are all the nominations

by   |  VIEW 361

ATP Awards 2022: here are all the nominations

The 2022 season has also officially closed on the ATP Tour, after the dispute of the Nitto ATP Finals and the final stages of the Davis Cup in Malaga. Spain managed to take the first two places in the world rankings at the end of the year, with Carlos Alcaraz (with a score of less than 7000 points, also due to the non-awarding of points during the Wimbledon Grand Slam) ahead of the countryman champion Rafael Nadal.

To complete the podium Casper Ruud, in front of the Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas. Meanwhile, the ATP tour has established the first nomination lists to award the end-of-season awards to the tennis players who have most distinguished themselves in the last 12 months.

Many surprises but also those excluded from these rankings.

The nominations

Comeback player of the year: the player who overcame a serious injury reaffirming himself as one of the best players in the ATP. Are Borna Coric, the Austrian former winner of the US Open Dominic Thiem, the Swiss Stan Wawrinka and Wu Yibing to aspire to the prize.

Most improved player of the year: the player who has achieved a significant best ranking by the end of the year and who has demonstrated an ever-improving level of performance throughout the year. Chosen Carlos Alcaraz, Maxime Cressy, Jack Draper and Holger Rune.

Newcomer of the year: The Next Gen player who cracked the top 100 for the first time in 2022 and made the biggest impact this season. Briton Jack Draper, Jiri Lehecka, Ben Shelton, Chun-Hsin Tseng and Holger Rune will compete.

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: the player who, throughout the year, behaved with the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed against his teammates with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his activities off the court.

Challenge between Carlos Alcaraz, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Rafael Nadal, Casper Ruud and Frances Tiafoe. Coach of the year: the choice will fall between Juan Carlos Ferrero (Carlos Alcaraz), Frederic Fontang (Felix Auger-Aliassime), Goran Ivanisevic (Novak Djokovic), Michael Russell (Taylor Fritz) and Christian Ruud (Casper Ruud).

Now, after December exhibitions, the stars will colme back fot the much awaited new season, starting fromt he Austraian Swing.