Australian Open

The Australian Open is the first of four annual Grand Slam tennis tournaments, held annually in Melbourne, Australia during the third and fourth weeks of January. The custom of playing the Australian Open as the last tournament lasted until 1985: in that year that edition of the tournament, although played in December, became the first test of the 1986 season and, from 1987, it resumed its positioning in January.

Initially played on the Kooyong grass pitches, the tournament risked falling into irrelevance but was revitalized in the 1980s with the move to Melbourne Park and the surface of the new pitches becoming concrete. The central court, the Rod Laver Arena, can accommodate 20,000 spectators and, like the renovated court number one called Hisense Arena, is equipped with a removable cover and can therefore be closed in case of rain or extreme heat. It was the first Grand Slam tournament where it was possible to play indoors. Over the years the playing surface has changed several times, starting from grass, moving from Rebound Ace to Plexicushion, since 2020 GreenSet has been used, a synthetic hard acrylic surface.