FIA or Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile is a federation of approximately 240 automobile clubs from 144 countries around the world, representing approximately 80 million motorists. FIA is based in Paris, at number 8 Place de la Concorde in the same building that houses the Hôtel de Crillon. The FIA's activities include the harmonization of various national regulations and campaigns in favor of road safety. After the Second World War the FIA spent much of its energy promoting automotive tourism across borders by preparing international visas and documents. Now this activity is greatly scaled down.

When it comes to motor racing, the FIA is the ultimate regulatory body in most countries around the world and organizes the four world championships of Formula 1, Rally, Endurance and Touring Car, as well as lower series such as Formula 3000, GP2 and Formula 3. Formula E was created in 2012, a category intended for single-seater electric vehicles, whose first races were held in 2014.