The MotoGP, is the most important motorcycle racing series in the world, divided into various Grands Prix that are held in different circuits around the globe. Grand prix motorcycles are racing prototypes, motorcycles developed specifically for racing that are not commercially available nor can they be ridden legitimately on public roads. The World Motorcycle Championship began with the Tourist Trophy on the Isle of Man on 13 June 1949.

For each Grand Prix, the top 15 drivers classified in the individual classes are assigned points in decreasing order which, added together, at the end of the season, designate the world champion of the class to which they belong. In the event of a tie, the driver with the highest number of victories (or, in the case of an equal number of victories, second places, third places and so on) is proclaimed champion.