Dale Earnhardt

Dale Earnhardt Sr. was an American racing driver, seven-time winner of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. He is known for being the most successful NASCAR racer in history together with Richard Petty and Jimmie Johnson, winning seven championships like the latter; in the various Winston Cups he won 76 races, including the victory in 1998 in the Daytona 500.

On February 18, 2001, in an accident that occurred on the last lap of the Daytona 500, he died instantly. Dale Earnhardt is currently the driver with the most victories on the Daytona circuit, 34, counting all the official competitions in which he took part. In 2010 he entered the NASCAR Hall of Fame, as a member of the inaugural class of the aforementioned Ark of Glory.